Mary Jung Elected SF Democratic Party Chair as Newly Elected Members Take Office

Written by FCJ Editor. Posted in News, Politics

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Published on July 27, 2012 with 1 Comment

California Democratic Party Chair John Burton administered the oath of office Wednesday to the newly-elected members of the San Francisco Democratic County Central Committee. Photos by Luke Thomas.

By Matt Dorsey, SFDCCC corresponding secretary

July 27, 2012

California Democratic Party Chair John Burton administered the oath of office to the newly elected members of the San Francisco Democratic County Central Committee Wednesday night at the first general meeting of the local Democratic Party’s governing board following the June 5th Primary Election.

Veteran Democratic activist Mary Jung was unanimously elected to serve as the San Francisco Democratic Party’s chair, and several DCCC members were elected to fill leadership roles that will be critical to the local party’s success heading into the November 2012 General Election. Top priorities discussed at the public meeting include re-electing President Obama, returning the Speakership to House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi by helping reclaim a majority in the U.S. House of Representatives, and pushing to expand the number of Democratic voters citywide.

“I’m honored to serve as Chair of the San Francisco Democratic Party, and I look forward to working hard with my fellow Democrats in an election year with so much at stake,” said Party Chair Mary Jung. “San Francisco Democrats elected a terrific team to lead our county central committee, and I think it reflects a spirit of unity and common purpose. I’m confident in our ability to help return President Obama to the White House, make Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi Speaker again, re-elect Senator Feinstein, and pass Gov. Brown’s revenue measure so California can maintain vital public services, restore quality education for all, and support our most vulnerable.”

“I want to thank you for placing your faith in me for the next two years. I pledge to you to have the most open and collaborative term possible with the challenges that we have facing us this November,” SFDCCC Chair Mary Jung said.

Other officers elected at the general meeting held at the California State Office Building’s Milton Marks Auditorium on Golden Gate Avenue are: First Vice-Chair (Finance) Zoe Dunning; Second Vice-Chair (Issues) Alix Rosenthal; Third Vice-Chair (Voter Registration) Trevor McNeil; Fourth Vice-Chair (Club Chartering and Development) Leah Pimentel; Recording Secretary Kat Anderson; Treasurer Tom Hsieh; Corresponding Secretary Matt Dorsey; and Parliamentarian Arlo Hale Smith. Rafael Mandelman will serve on the DCCC’s Slate Card Committee along with the Chair and Treasurer. A committee tasked with proposing party bylaw changes to incorporate requirements of the Ralph M. Brown Act, which assures public access and participation in local government public meetings, will include David Chiu, Arlo Hale Smith, Matt Dorsey and Hene Kelly. That ad hoc committee will seek to fully harmonize local party bylaws with relevant provisions of state law to address concerns that the election of six members of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors to the DCCC may occasionally trigger Brown Act requirements.

The committee also adopted two resolutions: one in support of placing AB 1648, a campaign finance reform measure known as the DISCLOSE Act, on the California ballot; and another expressing the Democratic Party’s support for City College of San Francisco.

About the San Francisco Democratic County Central Committee

San Francisco’s Democratic County Central Committee, or DCCC, is the governing body of the local Democratic Party as defined in California’s Government Code and Elections Code. The DCCC is comprised of local Democrats elected by voters in each Assembly District, as well as partisan-level Democratic elected officials and nominees who serve as Ex-Officio Officers. Current members elected from the 17th Assembly District are: John Avalos, David Campos, David Chiu, Malia Cohen, Petra DeJesus, Matt Dorsey, Bevan Dufty, Zoe Dunning, Leslie Katz, Rafael Mandelman, Carole Migden, Leah Pimentel, Alix Rosenthal, and Scott Wiener. Members elected from the 19th Assembly District are: Kat Anderson, Kelly Dwyer, Bill Fazio, Tom Hsieh, Mary Jung, Hene Kelly, Meagan Levitan, Eric Mar, Trevor McNeil and Arlo Hale Smith. Ex Officio members are: U.S. Sen. Dianne Feinstein, U.S. House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi, U.S. Rep. Jackie Speier, Attorney General Kamala Harris, State Senators Leland Yee and Mark Leno, and Assemblymembers Fiona Ma and Tom Ammiano.

Additional information is available online at:

1 Comment

Comments for Mary Jung Elected SF Democratic Party Chair as Newly Elected Members Take Office are now closed.

  1. Nice to see a report from Matt Dorsey, who is well-known for opposing a vibrant Sunshine Ordinance Task Force, from Wednesday’s meeting. Sorry to see that not even a passing reference is made to the time devoted to public comment. In my estimation, public comment took up about ten – twelve minutes of the meeting, but you’d never know this from Matt’s report.

    Among the public comments made, such topics as get out the vote efforts, energizing the Dem clubs and voters, and the failure of Scott Wiener and the merchants of the Castro to lower the rainbow flag this past weekend to honor the victims of the Colorado massacre, despite a proclamation from the president ordering flags to fly at half-staff.

    My report, with a great photo by Luke Thomas of me wearing a rainbow flag to make a visual statement, can be read here: